What's new

Hello bakers (1 Viewer)

fudgebum

I just want to say hi, I am new to baking and am thoroughly enjoying every minute of it. I have been suffering with anxiety and depression for 3 years this year, it been an extremely challenging at times with more downs than ups. Over the last 3 months me and my fella have binge watching Bake Off on Netflix. During this time I have been watching and seen many things created that I really liked the look of and wished that I could copy them myself. now that I have watched all of the episodes I decided to pluck up the courage and try to bake something myself. I first started by buying the premixed items from the supermarkets and I was shocked that they actually worked, not only that but they tasted great too. Having tried lemon drizzle and traybakes with great success I finally decided to try and bake something from scratch. If you knew me like I knew myself then you think no way, but I thought stuff it I’m going to try it and see what happens.... OMG! It has been over 2 months now and I’ve baked banana bread, Jaffa cakes and even a loaf of bread all from scratch and they actually worked and taste great also. My fella now takes some of my baking to work and he’s still alive and keeps asking me to bake his favorites which are banana bread and lemon drizzle from scratch. It feels really strange that he is taking my baking to work to eat in his break time but at the same it feels great to think that I made them but at the same time it feels really good inside to know that I was able to make them for him. Since then I have really got the baking bug to the point where I dream about it sometimes. Now when my fella goes to work he says ‘On your marks get set bake’ and I go in my own world where nothing else matters.

I have really surprised myself as I have never been able to cook but have managed to bake with great success and am looking forward to trying new things.