What's new

Please help with banana muffins- (1 Viewer)

CaliforniaKaren

Hi, I'd like my healthy muffins to have high domes. From what I've read online, you use baking soda to neutralize the acidity, but it doesn't seem necessary for this recipe.

Should I omit the baking soda and only use baking powder? If so, how do I adjust the recipe?

I'm a new baker and would love some tips. Thanks!! Karen

1-1/4 cups oats
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1/3 cup sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
1-1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1 egg
2 cups ripe bananas
1/3 cup butter
1/2 cup macademia nuts

Solution
@retired pastrychef Thanks! I'll try cooling the batter. Good to know I can keep it in the fridge. For how long? A week?

If I don't use 1tsp baking soda, should I use more baking powder? I'm already using 1-1/2 tsp baking powder. The recipe calls for 1 cup flour (I now only use all purpose flour), 2 cups bananas, 1-1/4 cups oats (then I add about am additional 1/2-3/4 cups oats with cinnamon to the top as a crumble), 1 egg, 1/3 cup butter whipped with 1/3 cup sugar, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp salt, 1/2 cup macadamia nuts. Thanks again and welcome to the forum! Karen

Omit the soda, it doesn't need it.
Heres yours converted to weights minus the soda
76 grams butter
76 grams sugar
1 egg
170 gram flour
450 gram banana
1 1/2 tsp...
Welcome to the site Karen, sorry I can't help as I don't bake, I wanted to welcome you here and tell you to hang on in there as our baker Angie will be able to help with your query as soon as she sees your post.

Enjoy looking around the site while you wait for your answer and again welcome aboard. :)

Hi Karen

I'm not sure if you've used this recipe before but here goes with a few tips for you.

Leavening agents are what give you a rise/dome effect that you are looking for. Also having the temperature on too high will cause your muffins to rise rapidly in the oven giving you a peaked cake.